Recipe: Traditional Holiday Cookies- Kolache

IMAG1045

I grew up a Slovak/Hungarian family, my mtoher and grandmother always kept christmas very traditional with old world foods, one of my favorite holiday cookies is Kolache (coal-a-ch-e). I have very fond memories of my grandmother making them for Christmas and Easter, sometimes thanksgiving as well. They are so tasty and so easy to pop right into your mouth.
This recipe is not my grandmothers original recipe becaue to be honest I could never get her recipe to work, my aunt and grandmother are the only two who seem to be able to pull off the old recipe.

But she showed me how to make them 🙂

Here is what you’ll need:
Ingredients
•1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese
•1 cup (1/2 lb.) butter
•2 cups flour
•1 tsp. baking powder ( I love Calumet brand)
•Jams and preserves (raspberry, apricot, pineapple – your choice!)
•Powdered sugar

Directions:

You will need your butter and cream cheese to be cold..put your flour and baking powder in a bowl, add cut up butter and cream cheese…now get in there mix it with your hands, I mean really go to town and mix it good, your hands works best, do not use the mixer, trust me on this….

IMAG0994

Once the dough is all mized and is a nice smooth consistency, form dough into four balls, and wrap with saran wrap, then pop them in the fridge overnight, this part is very very important,you MUST refridgerate the dough for at least 8 hours.

IMAG0996

After your dough has set in the fridge, roll it out one ball at a time to about an 1/8 of an inch of thickness.

Then cut off any uneven edges with a pizza cutter or knife.

You want a nice even edged square or rectangle.

IMAG1025

Cut your triangle down the middle and across until you have little squares, how big or small you make the square depends on how big you want your kolache.

IMAG1027

Next, fill your kolache with jam or pie filling of your choice

I used Apricot and Cherry here.

Careful not to over fill, I used a baby spoon to fill these ones up.

IMAG1029

Next, fold over your ends and pinch them really good, these tend to open up when baked and sometimes no matter what you do you will still have a few that will open up on you, but thats ok they are still tasty!

IMAG1030

Bake in the oven at 350 for 15-18 minutes

until golden brown

IMAG1044

Wala!! Tasty Kolache!

My family even has what we refer to as Kolache plates,

yes in my house this cookie gets top billing

with its very own

ornate platter 🙂

When they are all cooled, dust them with powdered sugar and serve! These also freeze really really well, wich is why I tend to make them ahead of time 😉

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Traditional Holiday Cookies- Kolache”

Leave a Reply

