Time well spent

My son loves to cook and bake with me. When he was just a little little one I would sit him in his highchair or his bouncer and talk to him while I was preparing dinner or baking something. “This is flour, we are going to use 1 cup of flour, this is broccoli, see how pretty green it is?” …You get the point…basically I was the cooking show and he was my audience.

As he got older he loved to help me measure and pour and eventually I gave him the job of professional mixer and taster. Even now, when I am cutting up veggies i give him his own cutting board and non serrated dull butter knife so he can pretend that he is helping me out. He LOVES it, and I love the un distracted conversations that happens:)

IMG_7547

We talk about girls, and how everyone in his class likes this one girl, and they all fight to sit next to her in storytime

IMG_7546

we talk about what things we will do in the summer and how

“it’s snowing again, I just don’t know why its snowing again”

“hey we were in class today and you know what this one kid did?”

“mommy I will help you make this, but I AM NOT going to eat it, because it smells, but you and daddy can eat it if you want to”

IMG_7392

how the soup I am making “smells like butt” but…”it’s ok mommy because I will still help you with it”

IMG_7548

Did I mention this kid does dishes?? ….Because he does, and he takes that job VERY SERIOUSLY lol

Image

These are some of the times that as a mother I cherish the most ๐Ÿ™‚

XOXO

Heather

2 thoughts on “Time well spent”

  1. Bless. What a great kid youยดve got there. I really like that few days a week me and little man are able to sit down together for a lunch. I just love the conversations that we have whilst we eat.

Leave a Reply

