Recipe: Quick and Easy Tomato Basil Soup

DSC_0250

 

It’s the middle of summer and I am making soup??? Why yes I am! I LOVE tomato soup and this recipe that I conjured up just playing around in my kitchen is so fresh and tasty, you’ll want to make it anytime of the year 😉

By the way, I don’t know how summer has been where you are at…but here in Ohio….it’s been on the wonky side….cold one minute….scorching the next. In my personal opinion, any food goes this summer, regardless of what it’s like outside 😉

 

Ok so down to business, to make this quick and easy soup, you will need:

6 Roma Tomatoes

1 large can of diced tomatoes ( you can either used the pre seasoned ones or the use the plain and add your own spices)

1 small can of Veggie broth or Chicken Broth

1 good handful of fresh basil

1 small handful of fresh parsley

Thyme (to taste)

Sea Salt (to taste)

Garlic (To taste)

1-2 tbl spoons of good Olive Oil

Now What?

Chop up your tomatoes and throw them in the pot with the canned tomatoes and everything else

and bring it to a soft boil, then turn it down and let it simmer on the stove for as long as you like.

The longer it simmer the tastier it gets! I ran up stairs to give my son a bath so total I think I let it cook about and hour and a half.

Make sure to occasionally stir it and taste it to see if the flavor is just right..

Once it has cooled, stick it in a food processor or blender and  pulverize it to a smooth consistency.

It’s sooooooooo good and so fresh and devoid of all the crap in manufactured processed soups.

DSC_0252

Unfortunately…..The first time I made this, I stuck it in the blender and the little plastic peice that sits on top of the blender lid fell through and hit the blade, depositing shattered plastic all through my soup…..I was so ticked off, I had to throw out the entire stinking batch!!!

The next time I made it,I was wise and put it in my nutribullet blender….I wasn’t about to take that chance again.

I was really surprised with the way this turned out, give it a try and let me know what you think!

xoxox

Heather

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Recipe: Quick and Easy Tomato Basil Soup”

  1. I love home made soups! Thanks for sharing. Also the other commenter’s idea of having it with garlic bread… PERFECT!

Leave a Reply

