Passing on Traditions

IMG_0717

My Christmas baking tradition always always starts the weekend after Thanksgiving, as soon as the Christmas season hits, I am in the kitchen baking goodies.

I try to get my son in on the fun but usually I lose him halfway through and he goes off and does something else.

This year, however, was different. He actually WANTED to help, so we started with Kolache,traditionally made this time of year in my family.

These cookies are notoriously a pain in the ass to make, but it’s a labor of love for me, I wasn’t sure he had enough patience, but he really did, so much in fact, he asked me to roll the dough and he cut and filled them.

IMG_0605

When he was done, he actually produced Kolachis so perfect, it looked like my grandmother made them!

IMG_0604

Next we tried sugar cookies and finally gingerbread cookies.

I just love the look on his face in these photos, so serious, so interested in what he was doing.

IMG_0710

And of course decorating is the BEST part of baking cookies is decorating right?

IMG_0714

I just love the half eaten cookie on the table, hey you gotta try them out right?

I SO enjoyed baking this year, it was great bonding time with my little guy, and I loved dancing around the kitchen with him while listening to holiday music.

Oh little man, you’re just growing so fast 😦

Do you have any traditions that you try to instill in your children?

Tell me about them below!

xoxoxo

Heather

Leave a Reply

