You NEED this recipe….

Well hello! Happy hump day to you.

Have you ever heard of the amazing queen of veggies, Kris Carr?

(If not then you need to go do that, go HERE)

Ok, now that you are familiar with her awesomeness; I came upon a recipe of hers on Facebook yesterday and I have to share it,mainly because not only is it damn delicious, but its excellent for you!

Massaged Kale Dinner Salad

(courtesy of Kris Carr)

Yield: 1 large serving

Salad Base:

  • 3 leaves of kale, rinsed and torn into small pieces, discarding the stems
  • 1/8 of a lemon
  • Generous sprinkling of sea salt
  • 1/2 head of romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 1 cup of baby spinach
  • 1/4 of an avocado, diced

Add-In’s:

  • 1/4 of an avocado, diced
  • 3 strawberries, diced
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup tomato, diced
  • 1/2 slice of red onion, diced
  • 3 slices of portabella mushrooms, diced
  • 1/2 cup baby carrots, sliced
  • 1 cup zucchini, diced
  • 2 pickle cucumbers, diced
  • 1/5 of a head of cauliflower, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup walnuts

1. In a large mixing bowl, squeeze lemon on kale and sprinkle with sea salt. Massage with your hands until kale shrinks dramatically and is a deep green.

2. Add in lettuce, spinach, and avocado. Use your hands to massage the greens with the avocado until they are evenly coated.

3. Add in additional ingredients, thoroughly mixing them throughout the prepared leaves.

4. Enjoy!

Now I know some of this stuff just doesn’t sound like it goes together, but trust me, it does and it’s SO GOOD. I had to leave the avocado out of mine because it hurts my tummy, but you can totally add it in.

Here is what mine turned out looking like. isn’t just gorgeous?

I know I get way too excited about food sometimes lol.

The only word of warning I will give you, is make it fresh, because I made this the night before I ate it ( I packed it for lunch) and it was ok but not nearly as good as when I first made it.

IMG_1347

1 thought on “You NEED this recipe….”

Leave a Reply

